Instagram began testing a Restrict feature in July, aimed at enabling people to avoid unwanted interactions with other users, without those users knowing.
The Restrict feature began rolling out globally Wednesday.
The Facebook-owned photo- and video-sharing network said the Restrict feature was designed to help empower users to protect their accounts and experience on the platform, while still keeping an eye on someone who might be bullying them or taking other inappropriate actions.
Instagram users can access the Restrict feature by swiping left on a comment, via the privacy tab in settings or directly on the profile of the person they want to restrict.
Once a person is restricted, they will be the only person able to see their comments on posts by the user who restricted them.
People who have restricted users can choose to view their comments by tapping “See Comment,” at which point they can approve the comment so everyone can see it, delete it, or ignore it.