Pinterest has announced that it will soon be retiring it’s Like button, which may require a slight change in process for Pinners, particularly those who track Likes for their performance metrics.
“There are lots of reasons why people like Pins on Pinterest.
But because we have both a Save button and a Like button, it hasn’t always been clear how they’re different.
After doing a bunch of research with Pinners, we found Pinterest is easier to understand when we remove the Like button altogether.”
To clarify the current process, whenever you Like a Pin, that Pin is then added to a separate ‘Likes’ tab on your profile, which only you can see, whereas when you Save a Pin, you select which board you want to save it to and anyone who visits your profile can see it in your collection (unless you mark the relevant board as ‘private’).
Pinterest made Likes private last November, and even then, it was pretty clear they didn’t rate Likes very high.