Porsche has become the latest manufacturer to quit internal combustion motorsport in favour of the all-electric Formula E race series.

The German company is to withdraw from the LMP1 class of the World Endurance Championship (WEC) at the end of the 2017 season.

The championship, which Porsche won in 2015 and 2016, includes the 24 Hours of Le Mans, won outright by Porsche for the past three years with its 919 Hybrid car.

From 2019, Porsche will instead compete in Formula E, where it will race against a growing number of car manufacturers looking to take what they learn on the race track and use it to develop electric road cars.

Mercedes recently announced that it too would join Formula E, while other manufacturers already involved include Audi, BMW, Renault, Jaguar and Citroen.

Spanning 2019 and 2020, season six will be the first to see Formula E drivers use a single car for the entire race.

The text above is a summary, you can read full article here.