Standing outside in the elements all night in order to pick up the latest iPhone is surely one of the great traditions of Apple fandom.

According to an announcement on Apple's website, the new phone will be available for walk-in customers in 55 countries on Friday, November 3 at 8am local time.

You're "encouraged to arrive early."

But if you don't feel like standing outside and getting pelted by rain or possibly snow overnight, you'll be happy to know that pre-orders for the hotly anticipated smartphone will go live this Friday, October 27, at 12:01am PT / 3:01am ET / 8:01am GMT / 6:01pm AEST.

Keep in mind, though, that reports currently claim that only around two or three million iPhone X units will be available at launch, so those pre-orders might be filled before the page even loads for you.

Standing outside could end up being a better idea than it initially seems, depending on where you are.

The text above is a summary, you can read full article here.