Uber is planning to tweak the historical pick-up and drop-off logs that drivers can see in order to slightly obscure the exact location, rather than planting an exact pin in it (as now).

The idea is to provide a modicum more privacy for users while still providing drivers with what look set to be remain highly detailed trip logs.

The company told Gizmodo it will initially pilot the change with drivers, but intends the privacy-focused feature to become the default setting “in the coming months”.

Earlier this month Uber also announced a complete redesign of the drivers’ app — making changes it said had been informed by “months” of driver conversations and feedback.

It says the pilot of location obfuscation will begin once all drivers have the new app.

The ride-hailing giant appears to be trying to find a compromise between rider safety concerns — there have been reports of Uber drivers stalking riders, for example — and drivers wanting to have precise logs so they can challenge fare disputes.

The text above is a summary, you can read full article here.